Virtually everyone has gotten a traffic ticket at one point or another. Despite the fact that most tickets are relatively harmless and low in cost, some traffic violations can result in more serious legal consequences and even criminal charges. By understanding the following driving laws in California, you can avoid having to contact a ticket lawyer Los Angeles.
In the state of California, as in most states, it is illegal to operate a vehicle without wearing a seatbelt. Seatbelts are required, and anyone who does not wear one or who transports a person who does not wear one will be subject to a variety of legal consequences.
In general, reckless driving is any type of driving that is deemed dangerous by law enforcement officials. This can include speeding, crossing multiple lanes, or running a red light. It is important to remember, however, that in California, anyone who is caught going 15 miles-per-hour or more over the speed limit can be charged with reckless driving, which is a criminal charge. That’s why there should be driving lessons to consider like this driving test car hire Dublin where drivers are encouraged to undergo training.
Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol
If you are 21 years of age or older, it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle with a BAC (blood alcohol content of 0.08% or more). If a person does choose to drive with a BAC in excess of 0.08%, they can be charged with DUI, which can lead to a variety of very serious criminal consequences.
Running Red Lights and Stop Signs
Individuals who run through red lights and stop signs in California will have to face remarkably high fines and DMV points. If a person collects too many points on their driving record, the DMV may choose to permanently revoke their license.
Find Out More
Whether you have been ticketed in Los Angeles or San Francisco, the lawyers at The Ticket Clinic may be able to help you get your charges reduced or dismissed completely. Contact an attorney today to find out more.